Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday (2/5)

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

February 5, 2022 05:05 AM
Gulfstream_Park

We have another big sports betting day on Saturday with the Super Bowl still a week away, but Team Tuley is still looking for value at tracks from coast to coast.

We’re joined this week by my friends, Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed from last summer’s “Saratoga on (about) $100 a Day”), Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci and my longtime friend John Lauro as he has one of his Derby future-book horses running on Saturday.

Good luck today (and every day).

SATURDAY

Gulfstream Race No. 2 (12:29 p.m. ET/9:29 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #4 Cashier Check (7-2 morning line). “Top jock Luis Saez picks up ride on improving 3-year-old son of Midnight Storm for hot Victor Barboza barn. Appears well suited for stretch out and move to synthetic surface. Ready to cash this check. Wager: Win.”

 

Gulfstream Race No. 5 (1:57 p.m. ET/10:57 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #5 In Dreams (5-2 morning line). “Brad Cox-trained sophomore colt prepared to tackle stakes company following a pair of easy six-length scores. Irad Ortiz Jr. climbs aboard for 7-furlong test. Solid works seal the deal. Derby field in his dreams. Wager: Win and Daily Doubles with 1,2,5,7.”

 

Gulfstream Race No. 6 (2:27 p.m. ET/11:27 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a four-horse Exacta Box of #1 Grand David (9-2 morning line), #2 Allegorical (8-1), #5 Khufu (15-1) and #7 Once a Giant (20-1).

 

Aqueduct Races Nos. 6-9 (3:22 p.m. ET/12:22 p.m. PT).

Duane Colucci likes the following late $.50 Pick 4 (cost $54)

Race 6: 1,2,3,4,8,10

Race 7: 2,6,7

Race 8: 1,9,11

Race 9: 4,7

Gulfstream Race No. 7 (3:01 p.m. ET/12:01 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #2 Coinage (6-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Kitten’s Joy Stakes. “We don’t usually look for speed horses in turf routes, but this nearly turned 3-year-old son of Tapit looks like he might be the lone speed under jockey Luis Saez. Hopefully we can pick up some extra coinage for the later races on the card. Wager: Win and Place.”

Gulfstream Race No. 8 (3:33 p.m. ET/12:33 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon’s BEST BET is #5 Radio Days (8-5 morning line). “Undefeated filly ships down from New York and reunites with youthful rider Dylan Davis. Claude McGaughey Jr. connections paid $750,000 for daughter of Gun Runner. She’s tuned in to victory. Wager: Win.”

 

Tampa Bay Race No. 8 (3:46 p.m. ET/12:46 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #5 Fly Like an Eagle (30-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Tampa Bay Stakes. “Heading across the state of Florida to Tampa Bay, we’re really taking a flier on this long shot as this lightly raced 4-year old is taking a big step up in class. However, I don’t see any world-beaters in here to scare me off (and to scare off the connections). He has already shown a consistent closing kick and should be in contention turning for home. Wager: Win and Place.”

Gulfstream Races Nos. 9-11 (4:05 p.m. ET/1:05 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $.50 Pick 3 (cost $30)

Race 9: 7,8,9

Race 10: 1,2,6,8

Race 11: 2,4,6,8,9

 

Gulfstream Races Nos. 9-12 (4:05 p.m. ET/1:05 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $30)

Race 9: 2,5,8,9,12

Race 10: 1,2,6,7

Race 11: 4,6,9

Race 12: 10

 

Aqueduct Race No. 8 (4:25 p.m. ET/1:25 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #9 Early Voting (3-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Withers Stakes. “Chad Brown runner cruised to an easy maiden score followed by 3 superb worktouts. Chad and Jose Ortiz combination is hitting at 38 percent at Aqueduct and this Gun Runner colt will add to that1. Bet 9 win Win and key 9 over 1,5, and 11 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Aqueduct Race No. 9 (4:54 p.m. ET/1:54 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #4 Asap Restoration (20-1). “Trainer John Toscano breaks out all the stops here with addition of blinkers and Lasix. Second-place finisher in last returned to win and Asap Restoration has nice workouts. Bet 4 to Win and key 4 over 7,9 and 10 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Gulfstream Race No. 11 (5:10 p.m. ET/2:10 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #6 Tiz the Bomb (6-1 morning line ) in the Grade 3 Holy Bull Stakes. “This colt was really gaining good ground in the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf, beating several classy horses. Handles dirt as well as proof in that maiden crushing at Ellis Park to show class to handle these. Bet 6 to Win and key 6 over 2,4 and 9 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

John Lauro likes #2 Mo Denegal (5-2 morning line). “Winner of the Remsen is powered to the Kentucky Derby. Todd Pletcher is winning at almost a 40-percent clip. The colt has great foundation and great works. Look for him to beat this group pretty easily. Play a straight Exacta with 2 over #9 Giant Game in second.”

Note: also check out our A.I. Pick of the Week at vsin.com/horses as we’ve gone 22-for-42 (better than 50 percent) since taking over the feature. There are also more plays from 1ST/BET handicappers on that page at vsin.com/horses.

 
 
back to news

Related News

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

The Lombardi Line: Bookmakers love parleys, when playing them, you want a mix of favorites and underdogs.

Pro Football Blitz: When you back teams on the raod you want a good running team, when you back teams at home you want a good passing team. With teams on the road usually the underdog, you want a team that can control time of possession like the Tennessee Titans.

 

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Shaun King: Eagles -6.5 vs Jaguars

Brendan Gaughan: Brad Keselowski Top 3 +600

View new sortable Picks at a Glance page for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Screen_Shot_2022-09-30_at_6.23.35_PM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

Close