Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday (2/12)

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

February 12, 2022 04:58 AM
Gulfstream_Park

We have another big sports betting day on Saturday with the Super Bowl looming on Sunday, but Team Tuley is still looking for value at tracks from coast to coast in between all of the other action.

We’re joined this week by my friends, Ed Sehon – aka Mr. Ed from last summer’s “Saratoga on (about) $100 a Day” – and my longtime friend John Lauro as we have plays at Aqueduct, Gulfstream and Tampa Bay.

Good luck today (and every day).

SATURDAY

Tampa Bay Race No. 3 (1:11 p.m. ET/10:11 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #8 Khufu (5-1 morning line). “Patrick Biancone, whose barn is having a tip-top meet at Gulfstream, ships sophomore son of Cairo Prince across state and switches him from the synthetic surface to turf for second start. Journeyman Rajiv Maragh comes along for the ride. Sounds like sharp move. Wager: Win and Place.” SCRATCHED

 

Tampa Bay Race No. 6 (2:45 p.m. ET/11:45 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 Drop a Hint (8-1 morning line). “Low-profile owner-trainer Herman Wilensky ships hard-charger over from Gulfstream, moving him from turf to dirt following a string of sharp works. Top Tampa rider Antonio Gallardo accepts mount. When you go to the window, drop a hint. Wager: Win and Place.” $14 WINNER!!! WAY TO GO, MR. ED!!!



Gulfstream Race No. 7 (3:01 p.m. ET/12:01 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #1 Conglomerate (3-1 morning line). “Chad Brown trainee finally found winner’s circle in sixth try, first over the Tapeta surface. Returning to the turf, son of Lemon Drop Kid draws favorable inside post and retains Tyler Gaffalione. Looks like a profitable investment. Wager: Win and bet him in Daily Double with #4 Guardian Moon (6-1) in Race No. 8.” $6.40 WINNER!!! MR. ED IS EN FUEGO!!!

 

Gulfstream Race No. 8 (3:33 p.m. ET/12:33 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #4 Guardian Moon (6-1 morning line) in the $100,000 Ladies’ Turf Sprint Stakes. “This newly turned 4-year-old filly should be the speed under Luis Saez. We just hope she’s not pressured too much up front by Woodbine invader #7 Sister Peacock. Trainer Jorge Abreu is hitting 25 percent overall and 19 percent in these kinds of non-graded stakes, so we trust him with the move up in class to steal this. Wager: Win and Place.” OUT OF THE MONEY

Tampa Bay Races Nos. 7-11 (3:18 p.m. ET/12:18 p.m. PT).

Ed Sehon likes the following $.50 Pick 5 (cost $72)

Race 7: 2,3 ELIMINATED w/ 4 beating 3 by a nose

Race 8: 2

Race 9: 2,8,10

Race 10: 3,4,5,7,8,13

Race 11: 5,6,11,12

 

Gulfstream Races Nos. 9-12 (4:05 p.m. ET/1:05 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $54)

Race 9: 8,9,10

Race 10: 1,3,5

Race 11: 1,4,6

Race 12: 2,3,6,11

 

Aqueduct Race 8 (4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #7 Bold Journey (6-5 morning line) in the $100,000 Gander Stakes. “This is the best bet for Saturday. This is the coming-out party for Bold Journey. In against state-breds, he should route the field. Strong Win bet on 7 and straight Exacta 7-6..”

Tampa Bay Race No. 10 (4:54 p.m. ET/1:54 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #1 Mr. Rum Runner (20-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Sam F. Davis Stakes. “This 3-year-old colt could steal this on the lead (jockey Romero Maragh is 15 percent with early-speed types) or sit off the pace. Trainer Patrick Biancone is 13 percent in graded stakes, not that great, but at 20-1 it looks good to me. Wager: Win and Place.

Note: also check out our A.I. Pick of the Week at vsin.com/horses as we’ve gone 23-for-44 (better than 50 percent) since taking over the feature. There are also more plays from 1ST/BET handicappers on that page at vsin.com/horses.

 
back to news

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

A Numbers Game: Maximize free bets from sportsbooks. Use on ML underdogs.

Follow The Money: NEVER cross the moneyline (0) in teasers. 15 ties since 1990 (8,240 games). That's .18% of games

View tips for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Wes Reynolds: Colts +6 vs. Chiefs

Matt Youmans: Wisconsin +18 vs Ohio State

 
Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Screen_Shot_2022-09-22_at_6.24.17_PM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

Close