Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 12/3

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

December 3, 2022 01:02 PM
Del_Mar_turf

The calendar has turned to December with plenty of other sports going on (including World Cup soccer added to the mix), but Team Tuley continues to look for value at tracks from coast to coast.

I’m joined by my regular contributors Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed from his Saratoga and Keeneland columns here at VSiN.com/horse-racing/) and Rampart race and sports manager Duane Colucci. We live up to the coast to coast claim with plays at Aqueduct in New York, Laurel Park in Maryland, Gulfstream Park in Florida, Turfway Park in Kentucky and Del Mar in California.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Aqueduct Races Nos. 7-10 (2:44 p.m. ET/11:44 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $27)

Race 7: 2,4,7

Race 8: 3,5,7,8,10,11

Race 9: 2

Race 10: 2,5,9

Duane Colucci likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $32)

Race 7: 2,4

Race 8: 1,3,7,10

Race 9: 1,2,4,7

Race 10: 2,5

Laurel Park Race No. 7 (2:57 p.m. ET/11:57 PT)

Ed Sehon likes #1 Malibu Moonshine (7-2 morning line) in the Maryland Juvenile Filly Stakes. “Astute NY trainer Carlton Baker ships 2-year-old debut winner back south for second try against deeper field of Maryland-bred fillies. Heavily bet first-time out, she’s sure to draw dollars on tote board. Look for her to shine again. Wager: Win.”

Dave Tuley likes #5 Bosserati (15-1 morning line). “This 2-year-old filly isn’t the lone speed in this race, but she is the one that drew furthest inside and could steal this on the front end at a price. Wager: Win and Place.”

Aqueduct Race No. 8 (3:14 p.m. ET/12:14.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #3 Battle Bling (3-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Go For Wand Stakes. “Trainer Rob Alrtras is on fire and this horse loves Aqueduct. She may sit the first quarter but has to be close and will be there at the half. Atras and jockey Kendrick Carmouche hit at 25% at Aqueduct. Shorter distance may be the quest. Bet 3 to Win and key 3 over 1,7,10 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Dave Tuley likes #8 Betsy Blue (6-1 morning line). “This 4-year-old filly will have plenty of company in the second tier, but I’m trusting that trainer Linda Rice has her placed well here as she’s 31% stretching out with a sprint-sprint-route pattern. Betsy Blue lost as the favorite in her last race, so that’s another reason we’re getting a decent price here along with the step up in class. Wager: Win.”

Gulfstream Park Race Nos. 7-10 (3:21 p.m. ET/12:31 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $1 Pick 4 (cost $48)

Race 7: 4,7,8,11

Race 8: 2,3,4,5

Race 9: 7

Race 10: 3,4,6

Aqueduct Race No. 9 (3:43 p.m. ET/12:43 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon is all in on #2 Zandon (1-1 morning line) in the Grade 1, $750,000 Cigar Mile. “He’s still my favorite horse in training. What’s not to like? Conditioned by Chad Brown, ridden by Joel Rosario, he’s ripe for return to major leagues. Should handle these with ease. Let’s go Zandon!” Wager: Win.”

Duane Colucci likes #1 Double Crown (15-1 morning line). “Decent field here that smells upset and this winner of the Kelso can repeat at a price. This gelding always fires at the distance and has two great workouts since the Grade 2 win. Bet 1 to Win and key 1 2,4,7 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Turfway Park Race No. 8 (4:15 p.m. ET/1:15 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #5 Spectacular Gem (30-1 morning line). “Long shot pick. This gelding runs best at Turfway with 2 in-the-money finishes out of 5 starts with a win. Can run at this level. Bet 5 to Win and Place and key 5 with 6,9,11 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse, plus box Superfecta with 5,6,9,11 for 10 cents (who knows?).”

Del Mar Race No. 3 (4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #2 Buzz of New York (3-1 morning line). “Sharp 4-year-old poised to repeat off return victory for red-hot D’Amato-Hernandez duo. Extra distance puts her right in the mix at finish line. Irish-bred gal’s got California buzzing. Wager: Win.”

Del Mar Races Nos. 6-10 (6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $72)

Race 6: 3,5,6

Race 7: 1,9,10,11

Race 8: 3,4,5,6

Race 9: 3,9,11

Del Mar Race No. 5 (5:30 p.m. ET/2:30 pm. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #3 Rebel Posse (12-1 morning line) in the $100,000 Stormy Liberal Stakes. “This 4-year-old colt should be able to sit just off the pace in this 5-furlong turf sprint and have a shot at the upset turning for home. Trainer Philip D’Amato hits at 20% with his first start with a horse and is hitting at 40% the last two months when using jockey Umberto Rispoli. Wager: Win and Place.”

Del Mar Race No. 7 (6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 pm. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #11 Liguria (3-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Jimmy Durante Stakes. “Chad Brown shipping this 2-year-old after two solid turf efforts at Aqueduct. Flavien Prat will have her rolling late. Bet 11 to Win and key 11 over 1,9,10 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Del Mar Race No. 9 (7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 pm. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #9 Wit (7-2 morning line) in the Grade 1 Hollywood Derby. “Todd Pletcher horse turned the corner since switching to turf. Pletcher is 21% in graded stakes and 21% with Prat. Had to overcome the post. Bet 9 to Win and key 9 over 1,3,10,11 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

 

back to news

help_desk_promo

PRO TOOLS

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings for every game on the board, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

PRO PICKS

Danny Burke: Over 1.5 Coaches Challenges (+254). View more picks.

Kelley Bydlon: A.J. Brown YES To Score A Touchdown (+140). View more picks.

PRO TIPS

Live Bet Tonight: Break it up when you’re handicapping Super Bowl props. The menu is massive and can be overwhelming. Focus on player props first, then index props next, etc. Keep yourself organized. View more tips.

 

QUICK LINKS

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

Close