Live On Air

Streaming Now: The Lombardi Line

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday (1/22)

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

January 22, 2022 04:46 AM
Gulfstream_Park

We know pro football is on most bettors’ minds this Saturday, but there’s still time to bet the ponies (especially earlier in the day with the first kickoff not until 4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT), so Team Tuley is here to look for value at tracks from coast to coast.

My friend Ed Sehon -- aka Mr. Ed from last summer’s “Mr. Ed’s Saratoga on (about) $100 a Day” column -- tackles Gulfstream while Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci attacks both Aqueduct and Gulfstream and I join in with one spot play right after the kickoff of the Bengals-Titans game.

Good luck today (and every day).

SATURDAY

Gulfstream Races Nos. 1-2 (noon ET/9 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following Daily Double:

Race 1: #3 Classic Film (7-2 morning line). Gelded guy off claim.

Race 2: #4 Awesome Family (6-5). Pair of seconds point to score.

Gulfstream Races Nos. 2-5 (12:29 p.m. ET/9:29 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $30)

Race 2: 4

Race 3: 2,4,5,6

Race 4: 1,2,6

Race 5: 1,2,3,4,5

Aqueduct Race No. 5 (2:18 p.m. ET/11:18 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #3 Appreciate (8-1 morning line). “Trainer John Toscano drops this turf runner into a modest spot on the main track, drops in half and uses jockey Andre Worrie, who he has scored with in the past. Bet 3 to Win and key 3 over 1,7 and 9 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Aqueduct Races Nos. 6-9 (2:48 p.m. ET/11:48 a.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following late $.50 Pick 4 (cost $45)

Race 6: 1,2,3,4,9

Race 7: 1,2,5

Race 8: 1,6,7

Race 9: 3,8

Gulfstream Race No. 7 (3:05 p.m. ET/12:05 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #5 Gingrich (3-1 morning line). “Son of Mr. Speaker, 3-year-old appropriately named after former Speaker of the House. His sophomore debut on New Year’s Day in the Dania Beach Stakes was quicker than it appears. I like the fact he cuts back a bit today, picks up the services of tough turf jock Julien Leparoux and gets first dose of Lasix. He speaks, I listen. Wager: Win.”

Gulfstream Races Nos. 8-11 (3:37 p.m. ET/12:37 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $48)

Race 8: 1,6,9,10

Race 9: 6,10,12

Race 10: 4,7

Race 11: 3,5,6,7

Duane Colucci likes the following late $.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 8: 3,4,6,8,9

Race 9: 2,8,10,12

Race 10: 2,3,7

Race 11: 3,7

Gulfstream Race No. 10 (4:42 p.m. ET/1:42 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #1 Quinoa Tifah (12-1 morning line) in the Sunshine Filly and Mare Turf Stakes. “Not only is Quinoa Tifah the best-named filly in this minor stakes race, but she’s also dropping in from Grade 3 company and should be the speed of the speed in this mile turf test. Hot jockey Julien Leparoux, who is hitting 15 percent with early-speed types, picks up the mount for trainer Carlos David, who is hitting 20 percent in non-graded stakes as he’s been great at placing horses at this level. Wager: Win and Place.”

Note: also check out our A.I. Pick of the Week at vsin.com/horses as we’ve gone 21-for-41 (better than 50 percent) since taking over the feature. There are also more plays from 1ST/BET handicappers on that page at vsin.com/horses.

 
back to news

Related News


spacer_5

Ask VSiN Your Sports Betting Questions

Spell Check

Headlines

View All

Google Play
App Store
Close