Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday (1/15)

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

January 15, 2022 05:07 AM
Gulfstream_Park

We know pro football is taking center stage on Saturday (and the rest of the weekend), but our team is still looking for value from coast to coast, especially as the majority of our plays takes place prior to the 4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT kickoff of the Raiders-Bengals game.

My friend Ed Sehon, who is in Vegas for a visit, tackles Gulfstream and Tampa Bay Downs while Rampart race and sports book manager attacks, Gulfstream, Tampa Bay and Santa Anita while I have two spot plays of my own.

SATURDAY

Gulfstream Race No. 5 (1:57 p.m. ET/10:57 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 Threshold (6-1 morning line). “Top rider Paco Lopez picks up the mount on Canadian invader for high-percentage Martin Drexler outfit. This 5-year-old looks to benefit from class drop and surface switch to turf. Look for this guy to cross the threshold first. Wager: Win and Place.”

Gulfstream Race No. 7 (3:05 p.m. ET/12:05 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes an Exacta Box of #2 Copacetic (8-5 morning line), #3 Black Sand (4-1) and #6 Queen of Lies (10-1). “A tough half-dozen maiden fillies are making their first starts as 4-year-olds, going two turns over the synthetic surface. Based on steady works, I’m betting Michael Stidham has his gal ready to fire from the outermost post, splitting the two Chad Brown charges. Wager: Exacta Box of 2,3 and 6.”

Tampa Bay Races Nos. 7-10 (3:25 p.m. ET/12:25 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following late $.50 Pick 4 (cost $54)

Race 7: 4,5,7,9

Race 8: 1,2,6

Race 9: 2,5,7

Race 10: 1,7,10

Duane Colucci likes the following late $.50 Pick 4 (cost $48)

Race 7: 2,3,5,7,9,10

Race 8: 1,2,5,6

Race 9: 4,5

Race 10: 1,8

Gulfstream Races Nos. 8-11 (3:37 p.m. ET/12:37 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following late $.50 Pick 4 (cost $64)

Race 8: 1,3,6,10

Race 9: 2,4,5,7

Race 10: 5,7

Race 11: 1,4,5,10

Duane Colucci likes the following late $.50 Pick 4 (cost $48)

Race 8: 1,3,4,8,9,10

Race 9: 3,4,5,7

Race 10: 1,8

Race 11: 5,8

Tampa Bay Race No. 9 (4:25 p.m. ET/1:25 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #2 All Good Times (20-1 morning line) in the Wayward Lass Stakes. “There’s not much early speed in this race, so All Good Times has a chance to steal this. We also like that trainer Darien Rodriguez is hitting 50 percent (7 of 14) and is even better long-term with first time after a claim at 37 percent in his last 60 in this spot. Jockey Daniel Centeno is sneaky-good with speed horses like this, so another reason giving us hope for a wire-to-wire theft. Wager: Win and Place.”

Santa Anita Race No. 6 (5:36 p.m. ET/2:36 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #1 Whooping Jay (6-1 morning line) in the Unusual Heat Turf Classic Stakes. “Trainer George Papaprodromou claims this gelding off a decent effort at Del Mar. He has four in-the-money finishes over this course. Georgia has a $2.51 ROI with turf runners and spots this one in a good position. Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 3, 6 and 8 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Santa Anita Races Nos. 7-10 (6:06 p.m. ET/3:06 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $80)

Race 7: 1,2,4,5,8

Race 8: 2,4,9,10

Race 9: 3,4,6,7

Race 10: 3,9

Santa Anita Race No. 10 (7:36 p.m. ET/4:36 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #4 Munny Penny (30-1 morning line) in the California Cup Oaks. “Again, we’re hoping we’ve found lone speed with Munny Penny making her 3-year-old debut. Her last race was a clunker, but if you throw that out she fits with these, especially if she’s able to be the controlling speed. Wager: Win and Place.”

Note: also check out our A.I. Pick of the Week at vsin.com/horses as we’ve gone 20-for-40 since taking over the feature. There are also more plays from 1ST/BET handicappers on that page at vsin.com/horses.

 
back to news

Related News


spacer_5

Ask VSiN Your Sports Betting Questions

Spell Check

Headlines

View All

Google Play
App Store
Close