Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 10/8

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

Rockemperor

We know everyone (at least it seems like everyone, or at least everyone in our world) is immersed in the football season with wall-to-wall college football on Saturday, but Team Tuley is still looking for value at tracks from coast to coast.

Last Saturday, our friend Duane Colucci, race and sports book manager at the Rampart, took the day off and my friend Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed from his Keeneland Play of the Day column HERE at VSiN.com) carried me as I went 0-for-3 (we took our shots with some price horses) while Sehon helped cut our team’s losses with a $72.30 Exacta in Churchill’s 8th race.

This Saturday, Colucci is back and while Sehon has his Play of the Day in his own column, he’s also still contributing here as our team has more plays from Keeneland, plus the Belmont-at-Aqueduct card and even at Woodbine in Canada.

Good luck today (and every day).

SATURDAY

Keeneland Race No. 2 (1:31 p.m. ET/10:31 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes first-time starter #5 Stay Fabulous (9-2 morning line). “Expensive 2-year-old daughter of Violence reunites top trainer Steve Asmussen with long-time go-to-guy Ricardo Santana. Backstretch chatter says gal is truly fabulous — and primed for maximum effort in maiden dirt sprint. Wager: Win.”

Keeneland Race No. 5 (3:06 p.m. ET/12:06 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #4 Gulfstream Way (4-1 morning line). “Gelded son of Gemologist sports solid 10-3-2-3 in-the-money record for excellent Kentucky-based trainer Chris Hartman. In effort to return to Winner’s Circle, he cuts back to 7 furlongs while picking up services of hard-luck rider Chris Landeros. Having attended The U many years ago, I certainly know the way to Gulfstream Park. Wager: Bet 4 to Win and box 4 in Exactas with 6,11,12.”

Belmont-at-Aqueduct Race No. 6 (3:16 p.m. ET/12:16 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #1 Dontlookbackatall (4-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Matron Stakes. “Easy win at Saratoga, eased up, and has had steady workouts. She should be rolling in the stretch. Cristophe Clement has a $2.60 ROI with 2-year-olds hitting at 25 percent. Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 2,6,7,11 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse."

Keeneland Race No. 6 (3:38 p.m. ET/12:38 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #3 All in Sync (20-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Woodford Stakes. “Most people look for a speed horse in a 5.5-furlong race like this, even on the turf, but this race is loaded with early speed types or those who will be looking to sit right off the pace. All in Sync has done his best running in non-graded stakes, so he’s taking a step up in classe, but he’s the only true closer and will hopefully be picking up the pieces late. Wager: Win and Place.”

Belmont-at-Aqueduct Races Nos. 7-10 (3:48 p.m. ET/12:48 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $.50 Pick 5 (cost $72)

Race 7: ALL (1-6)

Race 8: 2,7

Race 9: 1,4,6,9

Race 10: 4,7,10

Race 11: 2

Keeneland Race No. 7 (4:10 p.m. ET/1:10 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a four-horse Exacta Box in the Grade 2 Thoroughbred Club of America Stakes with #2 Palm Cottage (4-1 morning line), #3 Club Car (9-2), #7 Slammed (3-1) and #9 Happy Soul (6-1).

Keeneland Races Nos. 7-10 (4:10 p.m. ET/1:10 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 7: 2,3,7,9

Race 8: 3,4,5

Race 9: 2,5,7,10,11

Race 10: 6,7

Belmont-At-Aqueduct Race No. 8 (4:20 p.m. ET/1:20 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #5 Rockemperor (10-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Joe Hirsch Turf Classic. “#2 War Like Goddess is the 7-5 favorite and #7 Gufo is the 2-1 second choice, but I see this race as more wide-open than others do, and I feel Rockemperor fits right in with these for trainer Chad Brown. He should be sitting well off the pace in this 1 1/2-mile race and make a big move in the stretch. Wager: Win and Place.”

Keeneland-jockeys

Woodbine Race No. 7 (4:32 p.m. ET/1:32 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #4 Into the Sunrise (20-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Nearctic Stakes. “This 4-year-old gelding should be the speed of the speed with a chance to steal this race. Now, let the bettor beware, as he’s winless this year and usually gives up his lead late, but sometimes no one is able to catch these types, so we’ll take a flier. Wager: Win and Place.”

Keeneland Races Nos. 8-11 (4:42 p.m. ET/1:42 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 8: ALL (1-6)

Race 9: 2,7,9

Race 10: 5,11

Race 11: 2,6,10

Keeneland Race No. 9 (5:14 p.m. ET/2:14 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #9 Funtastic Again (15-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Claiborne Breeders’ Futurity. “Wesley Ward trainee ran monster at Saratoga on dirt. Jockey Joel Rosario takes this mount, skipping a definite check at Belmont-at-Aqueduct.. Easy workouts, easy does it. Bet 9 to Win and key 9 over 2,5,7,10 in Exactas and Trifectas and reverse.”

Keeneland Race No. 10 (5:45 p.m. ET/2:45 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #5 Masen (12-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Coolmore Turf Mile Stakes. “Masen obviously loves Belmont, just missed at Keeneland and ran in that odd-ball Fourstardave at Saratoga. He should sit right off this amazing hot pace and I predict Flavien Prat and Chad Brown (they have a $2.32 ROI at Keeneland) close it out. Bet 5 to Win and key 5 over 8,9,10,11 in Exactas and Trifectas and reverse.”

Dave Tuley also likes #5 Masen (12-1). “I agree with Duane that Masen can run these down in the stretch. I’m skeptical of getting such a juicy price, but maybe we will with this large field. Wager: Win and Place (only if he goes off at 10-1 or higher).”

 

back to news

Related News

PRO TOOLS

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings for every game on the board, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

PRO TIPS

The Greg Peterson Experience: In NBA and college hoops, place more value on teams that emphasize low post defense. It travels much better than shooting. View more tips

Live Bet Tonight: In games with favorites laying 3 points or fewer, check out laying the price on the moneyline and avoid losing by a few points. View more tips

PRO PICKS

Paul Howard: Seahawks Win NFC West +350. View more picks

Gill Alexander: Bengals (-6) vs. Browns. View more picks

 

 

 

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

Close