Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 10/29

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

October 29, 2022 05:59 AM
Keeneland_starting_gate

We know everyone (at least it seems like everyone, or at least everyone in our world) is immersed in the football season with wall-to-wall college football on Saturdays (and also the World Series) but Team Tuley is still looking for value at tracks from coast to coast as we’re heading toward the Breeders’ Cup at Keeneland next weekend.

Last Saturday, my friend Ed Sehon carried us with his pick of Fingal’s Cave running second in Keeneland’s 9th race and completing a $35.44 Exacta. Otherwise, we blanked on the day.

But this Saturday the two of us are back for more (plus check out Mr. Ed’s Play of the Day on Keeneland’s closing day Saturday at VSiN.com/horses, though he has more plays for us below), plus we’re re-joined by Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci and another handicapping friend, John Lauro.

This Saturday, we have plays at Aqueduct (the Belmont at Big A meet), Keeneland, Golden Gate and Santa Anita.

Good luck today (and every day)!

SATURDAY

Keeneland Race No. 6 (3:40 p.m. ET/12:40 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #2 Sir Lancelot (3-1 morning line). “After pair of minor league wire jobs, speedy choice ups his game in Bowman Hill stakes vs. a tough crew of youngsters. Trainer Michael Stidham overdue for stakes score. Jose Ortiz, who was aboard for Presque Isle romp in last, maintains mount. Say good knight, Gracie. Wager: Win.”

Belmont at the Big A Race Nos. 7-10 (3:48 p.m. ET/12:48 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $120)

Race 7: 1,2,5,8

Race 8: 4,5,6

Race 9: 1,2,4,8

Race 10: 1,2,5,6,7

Keeneland Race Nos. 7-10 (4:12 p.m. ET/1:12 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $54)

Race 7: 4,10,11,12

Race 8: 2,5,8

Race 9: 1,3,4

Race 10: 1,6,7

Belmont at the Big A Race No. 8 (4:22 p.m. ET/1:22 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #4 Dr B (5-1 morning line) in the Pumpkin Pie Stakes. “She’s had nice runs at Parx, including against Oxana, who might be favored here. Jockey Trevor McCarthy is hot and Robert Reid is a 20% trainer. Bet 4 to Win and key 4 over 1,2,6 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Keeneland Race No. 8 (4:44 p.m. ET/1:44 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #5 Classic Causeway (4-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Bryan Station Stakes. “Total class edge here! Winner of Belmont Derby. Trainer Kenneth McPeek and jockey Brian Hernandez have a $2.44 ROI when combining. Bet 5 to Win and key 5 over 1,2,6,12.”

Belmont at the Big A Race No. 9 (4:54 p.m. ET/1:54 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #8 Runninsonofagun (9-2 morning line) in the Grade 3 Bold Ruler Stakes. “This Toscano runner reminds me of Love That Mac, a solid runner Johnnie had back in the day! This horse was 2nd in the Dwyer and has three in a row Grade 3 place finishes at Aqueduct. Bet 8 to Win over 1,2,3,4 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Dave Tuley likes #1 Meraas (5-1 morning line). “This 5-year-old gelding comes over from Great Britain by way of Dubai and looks like pretty much the lone speed, or at least the speed of the speed. Flavien Prat should be able to control this race on the lead. Wager: Win (and Place only if he goes off higher than his morning-line odds).”

Santa Anita Race No. 3 (5:04 p.m. ET/2:04 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #5 Going Global (4-5 morning line) in the Goldikova Stakes. “She’s training awesome. Best Bet of the day.”

Keeneland Race No. 9 (5:16 p.m. ET/2:16 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #4 First Captain (6-5 morning line). “I began following precocious son of super sire Curlin as a 3-year-old when he was on the Triple Crown trail. Since then he has become an accomplished hard charger, banking more than $650,000 in total earnings. He’s bypassing the Breeders’ Cup Classic for this shorter, easier spot. Luis Saez returns to saddle. Wager: Win and key in Exactas and Trifectas with 1 and 3.”

Keeneland Race No. 10 (5:48 p.m. ET/2:48 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes Exacta and Trifecta Boxes featuring trio: #1 Illegal Smile (8-5 morning line) for Wesley Ward, Jose Ortiz rides; #6 Spicy Marg (7-2) also for Ward, Johnny Velazquez rides; and #7 Violenza (15-1) for Ian Wilkes, son-in-law Chris Landeros on board. Wager: Box 1,6,7.

Dave Tuley likes #3 New Boss (12-1 morning line). “This 4-year-old filly is 0-for-2 at Keeneland, but she’s bounced around to a lot of turf courses and knows how to find the winner’s circle (4-of-13). She runs in some minor stakes but fits in this $140,000 allowance and should be able to sit a stalking trip. Wager: Win and Place.”

Santa Anita Race No. 6 (6:36 p.m. ET/3:36 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #3 Fun Money (8-1 morning line) in the Golden State Juvenile Fillies Stakes. “This 2-year-old filly finally broke her maiden last time out in sixth career try. She’s 5-for-6 in the money with the lone exception being when she lost her rider. Jockey Mario Gutierrez (who is hitting 22% when riding for trainer Doug O’Neil the past two months) should have her forwardly placed and with a shot at the upset. Wager: Win and Place.”

Santa Anita Race No. 7 (7:06 p.m. ET/4:06 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #6 Stayincotai (12-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Twilight Derby. “Espinoza and Eurton rarely combine, but this colt ran well at Del Mar and the workout on the 17th is solid. Was well-bet when facing these rivals last time, so he’s not overmatched. Bet 6 to Win and key 6 over 1,2,3,4 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Golden Gate Race No. 8 (8:21 p.m. ET/5:21 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #5 Bolt’s Broad (9-2 morning line) in the Pike Place Dancer Stakes. “This 2-year-old filly had trouble last time. She has a bright future on the turf.”

 

back to news

Related News

PRO TOOLS

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings for every game on the board, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

PRO TIPS

VSiN PrimeTime: Always check to see if a moneyline parlay offers better odds than a teaser. View more tips

Live Bet Tonight: In games with favorites laying 3 points or fewer, check out laying the price on the moneyline and avoid losing by a few points. View more tips

PRO PICKS

Matt Youmans: Washington +6 vs Texas. View more picks

Paul Stone: Florida State -7 vs Oklahoma. View more pick

 

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

Close