Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 10/1

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

Santa_Anita

We know everyone (at least it seems like everyone, or at least everyone in our world) is immersed in the football season with wall-to-wall college football on Saturday, but Team Tuley is still looking for value at tracks from coast to coast.

This Saturday, I’m just joined by my friend Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed from his Saratoga and Keeneland columns here at VSiN) as our other regulars – Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci and John Lauro don’t have plays. But we’re excited about today’s cards at Aqueduct (aka Belmont at the Big A), Laurel, Churchill and Santa Anita.

Good luck today (and every day).

SATURDAY

Churchill Downs Race No. 5 (2:45 p.m. ET/11:45 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #7 Magnificent Mile (5-1 morning line). “Trainer Rudy Brisset sends out pricey son of Quality Road in maiden route for Kentucky-bred youngsters. Our choice, who Placed in debut at Ellis Park, gets rider upgrade to Tyler Gaffalione. Look for him early as he stretches out to capture magnificent mile-and-a-quarter. Wager: Win.”

Belmont at the Big A Race No. 6 (3:35 p.m. ET/12:35 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #14 Fenway (6-1 morning line). “If you’re like me, you probably have horses pop up on your “Horse Watch” list and Fenway was a Kentucky Derby future bet for me and my friend John Lauro last year. This allowance race was originally written for the turf and has been moved to the dirt track and Fenway was entering for “main track only,” which is usually a good sign that the trainer likes the spot and just wants to run on the dirt. Fenway is also a first-time gelding. Wager: Win (as odds will probably be shorter with all the scratches).”

Belmont at Big A Races Nos. 7-11 (4:07 p.m. ET/1:07 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $0.50 Pick 5 (cost $90)

Race 7: 1

Race 8: 2,3,4,6

Race 9: 2,6,7,10,13

Race 10: 1,3,6

Race 11: 3,8,10

Laurel Race No. 8 (4:14 p.m. ET/1:14 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #1 Breviary (15-1 morning line) in the $100,000 Twixt Stakes. “There’s a lot of early speed in this 1 1/16 mile stakes race, so it should really set up for this closer. She is taking a step up in class, but has been very consistent closing in her races this summer, including at this track, where she is 7-for-18 lifetime with four runner-up finishes. Wager: Win and Place.”

Churchill Downs Race No. 8 (4:22 ET/1:22 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes $2 Exacta and $1 Trifecta Boxes featuring #1 Tepeu (3-1 morning line), #4 The Prince’s Spur (10-1), #7 Strong Quality (7-2),and #8 Open Road (6-1).

Churchill Downs Races Nos. 8-11 (4:22 p.m. ET/1:22 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $48)

Race 8: 1,4,7,8

Race 9: 1,2,3,6

Race 10: 2,3,5

Race 11: 7,8

Churchill Downs Race No. 10 (5:26 p.m. ET/2:26 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 Happy Saver (5-2 morning line) in the Grade 2 Lukas Classic. “In an effort to capture his first victory over the Louisville oval, pick gets class relief vs. a tough bunch, including old pro #2 Art Collector (2-1) and #5 Hot Rod Charlie (8-5). I’ll pitch Kentucky Derby winner #4 Rich Strike (6-1) and bet 3, for Pletcher-Saez duo, to Win as well as box him in Exactas and Trifectas with 2 and 5.”

Santa Anita Race No. 7 (6:38 p.m. ET/3:38 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #8 Dubai Key (6-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Eddie D Stakes. “This 5-year-old Argentinian-bred can take this field wire-to-wire on the downhill turf course. He had been dominating in optional claiming races with three straight wins and then came up just short in the Grade 3 Green Flash Handicap at Del Mar. Wager: Win and Place.”

 

 

back to news

Related News

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

 

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings for every game on the board, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

A Numbers Game: An easy place to get a leg up for new bettors is just shopping futures prices. It is easy to find major differences often. i.e. Virginia 30-1 vs 16-1. View more tips.

Follow The Money: Bet as early as possible when bowl lines come out. Lines can move more than a TD in 2-3 weeks before a game. View more tips.
 
Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Gill Alexander: Seahawks -7 vs Browns.  View more picks.

Wes Reynolds: Jets +3 at Vikings.  View more picks.

 

Close