Previewing Big Ten basketball

Preseason hype is just hot air, but the Big Ten has several teams and players worth hyping going into the 2020-21 season. Iowa senior center Luka Garza is the favorite to win national player of the year honors, and the Hawkeyes are among four conference teams — along with Illinois, Michigan State and Wisconsin — considered to be Final Four contenders. If the Big Ten gets 10 teams into the NCAA tournament, can it boast of being college basketball’s best conference, or is winning the tournament most important? The last Big Ten team to win the NCAA championship was Michigan State in 2000. Since the Spartans’ triumph, the league is 0-7 in the national title game — the losers were Indiana (2002), Illinois (2005), Ohio State (2007), Michigan State (2009), Michigan (2013, 2018) and Wisconsin (2015). 
back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.


View All

VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!


  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on
Sign Up Now
Google Play
App Store