Live On Air

Streaming Now: The Lookahead

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Mr. Ed's Saratoga on (about) $100 a Day (9-5)

By Ed Sehon  (VSiN handicapper) 

September 5, 2021 01:32 AM

SATURDAY RECAP: #2 Max Player upset chalky choice #1 Forza Di Oro in the Grade 1 Jockey Club Gold Cup, earning a probable trip to the Breeders’ Cup Classic at Del Mar this fall. Trained by Steve Asmussen and ridden by his go-to guy Ricardo Santana Jr., the winner paid $9.60 on a $2 Win ticket … Other stakes winners included Cilla ($23.40), Public Sector ($4.40) and War Like Goddess ($2.80) … Top performers also included jockeys the Bros. Ortiz with three wins each and trainer Chad Brown with a pair of victories … The average $2 Win ticket returned $9.90. The $1 Pick 6 paid $7,893.

IRAD INDEX: Irad Ortiz Jr. had three low-priced winners, returning a total of $11.80 from 10 mounts (-$20 at a mythical $2 per Win wager). Going into the day he showed a $24.80 deficit over the past 14 racing days. So, with two cards to go until meet’s end on Monday, Irad is in the hole at -$36.60 … On the plus side, he did have three winners, closing within six of Luis Saez, who was shut out on Saturday. Mr. Ed's words to the wise: Do not count this super-competitor out of turning a profit, and/or capturing the leading rider title … He has nine mounts on Sunday.

728x90-1000offer

TODAY AT THE SPA: Another deep 12-race card awaits fans on this 39th day of the Spa meet. Race No. 1 has an early 12:35 p.m. ET/9:35 a.m. PT post time … The featured stakes is the Grade 1, $300,000 Spinaway (Race No. 11, 6:11 p.m. ET/3:11 p.m. PT) for 2-year-old fillies at 7 furlongs on the main track. Trainer Asmussen and jockey Santana with #3 Echo Zulu (8-5 morning line) are favored to capture the Gold Cup-Spinaway double, a rare feat … Mudders make note: Mid-afternoon showers are in the forecast.

DAILY DOUBLE (Races Nos. 1-2, 12:35 p.m. ET/9:35 a.m. PT)

Mr. Ed opens the day pairing #3 Love to Run (6-1 morning line) in Race No. 1 with #5 Madam Maclean in the 2nd (see below). Wager: $4 Daily Double of 3-5. ($4)

EXACTA EXTRA (Race No. 2, 1:10 p.m. ET/10:10 a.m. PT)

In need of bus fare back to Belmont, new trainer Patrick Reynolds drops #5 Madam Maclean (3-1 morning line), who gets serious rider upgrade to Jose Lezcano. Filly registered best Beyer Speed Rating last out. Wager: $4 Exacta Box 5/6,7 & 11. ($24)

BEST BET (Race No. 6, 3:22 p.m. ET/12:22 p.m. PT)

Another trainer seeking financial assistance, out-of-towner Saffie Joseph Jr. enters #3 Fair Haired Boy (6-1 morning line) off career-best effort over yielding turf. Mr. Ed expecting rain to soften grass. Wager: $10 to Win & Place on 3. ($20)

PRICE PLAY (Race No. 8, 4:27 p.m. ET/1:27 p.m. PT)

Jeremiah Englehart stretches #7 Solasta (10-1 morning line) out after disappointing debut for $300,000 daughter of Goldencents. Jose Lezcano gets mount. Gal should improve with added distance. Wager: $10 Win & Place. ($20)

EXTRA EXACTA (Race No. 9, 5:01 p.m. ET/2:01 p.m. PT)

Top rider Luis Saez picks up mount on #7 Kemba for sneaky-solid trainer Ray Handal. She looks like the speed of the speed off recent fast work. Wager: $4 Exacta Box of 7 with 1,2 & 12. ($24)

LATE PICK 4 (Races Nos. 9-12, 5:01 p.m. ET/2:01 p.m. PT)

Race 9: 1,2,7,12

Race 10: 2,8,9

Race 11: 2,3,5,8

Race 12: 1,7 ($48)

TOTAL WAGERS: $140

 

back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
custom-banner-3
 

LISTEN LIVE!

It's totally free

(Learn more about the player)

OTHER WAYS TO LISTEN

  • On your phone
  • In your home
  • In your car
DETAILS
Google Play
App Store
Close