Live On Air

Streaming Now: The Lookahead

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Mr. Ed's Saratoga on (about) $100 a Day (9-4)

By Ed Sehon  (VSiN handicapper) 

September 4, 2021 05:16 AM

FRIDAY RECAP: The day’s lone stakes Race No. 9, the Lucky Coin, was won by #4 Pulsate (morning line 4-1) for hungry, veteran trainer Bobby Ribaudo and rider Manny Franco. The 5-year-old sprint specialist paid $15 on a $2 Win ticket … Capturing the early (Races Nos. 1 & 2) Daily Double and the (Race No. 10 finale), Irad Irtiz Jr. (see below) topped all riders with three victories, followed by brother Jose and Dylan Davis with two wins each … Chad Brown led trainers with two scores … Mr. Ed’s recent roll continued as he banked a $31 EXACTA EXTRA (Race No. 8) & the $4 LATE DAILY DOUBLE (Race Nos. 9 & 10) for $208 … The average $2 Win ticket paid $13.30 and the $1 Pick 6 returned a modest $5,873.50.

IRAD INDEX: With three winners, Irad Ortiz Jr. cut his 13-day loss total on mythical $2 Win wagers to a manageable -$24.80 with three days left in the meet. He is listed to ride in 10 of 12 races today. Giddy up and go, Irad!

JOCK TALK: After today’s program, young Tyler Gaffalione and veteran Joel Rosario will relocate their tacks to Kentucky Downs, where they will ride in the boutique six-day meet on various days beginning Sunday and concluding on Sunday, Sept. 22. Jose Ortiz will join them in the bluegrass on Labor Day. All had outstanding Saratoga meets … With Luis Saez a shoe-in for top jockey honors with 60 wins, for the first time since 2014 the winningest rider title will go to someone not named Ortiz. Nice goin’, Luis.

728x90-1000offer

 

TODAY AT THE SPA: With early Race No. 1 post of 12:35 p.m. ET/9:35 a.m. PT, don’t get shut out. Rare 12-race card features four excellent stakes, including two Grade 1s, the Race No. 11 Flower Bowl (6:11 p.m. ET, 3:11 p.m. PT) and Race No. 12 Jockey Club Gold Cup (6:46 p.m. ET/3:46 p.m. PT) … Here are Mr. Ed’s budget-busting selections:

EARLY DAILY DOUBLE (Races Nos. 1-2, 12:35 p.m. ET/9:35 a.m. PT)

Race 1: 3,5,12

Race 2: 2,3,8

Wager: $2 Daily Double ($18)

$.50 PICK 4 (Races Nos. 2-5, 1:10 p.m. ET/10:10 a.m. PT)

Race 2: 2,3,8

Race 3: 1,4,6,7

Race 4: 7

Race 5: 1,2,4,5,6 ($30)

PRICE PLAY I (Race No. 5, 2:47 p.m. ET/11:47 a.m. PT)

Trainer upgrade from subpar Linda Rice to hot Brad Cox (31% wins) and cutback to 6 furlongs are the keys to victory for #5 Amendment Nineteen (4-1 morning line). Jose Ortiz stays. Mr. Ed exercises his right to vote for and Wager: $10 to Win & Place on 5 ($20)

EXACTA EXTRA (Race No. 7, 3:53 p.m. ET/12:53 p.m. PT)

Dallas Stewart 2-year-olds improve with age and experience. His #10 Brigadier General (5-1 morning line) making his third start, gets rider change to Manny Franco. Mr. Ed uses him top & under with #3 Ten Gauge (5-1), #4 Misbehaved (7-2) and #8 Gait (4-1). Wager: $4 Exacta Box 10/3,4 & 8. ($24)

PRICE PLAY II (Race No. 8, 4:27 p.m. ET/1:27 p.m. PT)

Wesley Ward ships Kentucky Derby starter #2 Like the King (6-1 morning line) up north for Grade 3, $200,000 Saranac Stakes following ultra-sharp works at Keeneland. Johnny Velasquez fit for this king. Mr. Ed crowns colt. Wager: $10 Win & Place on 2. ($20)

BEST BET (Race No. 10, 5:37 p.m. ET/2:37 p.m. PT)

Brad Cox is the trainer Mr. Ed rode in on (see Race No. 5 above). Late-blooming 3-year-old colt #3 Ducale (5-2 morning line) shows ton of upside. If he can repeat 97 Beyer Speed Figure in last, he’s a winner against this crew. Wager: $30 to Win on 3. ($30)

LATE DAILY DOUBLE (Races Nos. 11-12, 6:11 p.m. ET/3:11 p.m. PT)

In conditioner Bill Mott, Mr. Ed trusts to sweep Late DD with #3 War Like Goddess (4-1 morning line) in Race No. 11 and #1 Forza Di Oro (8-5 morning line) in Race No. 12. Wager: $10 Daily 3-1 Daily Double. ($10)

TOTAL WAGERS: $152

ON TAP SUNDAY: Another early (12:35 p.m. ET/9:25 a.m. PT) Race No. 1 post for another 12-race card, featuring the Grade 1, $300,000 Spinaway Stakes for 2-year-old fillies going 7 furlongs on the dirt.

 

back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
custom-banner-3
 

LISTEN LIVE!

It's totally free

(Learn more about the player)

OTHER WAYS TO LISTEN

  • On your phone
  • In your home
  • In your car
DETAILS
Google Play
App Store
Close