Live On Air

Streaming Now: The Lookahead

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Mr. Ed's Saratoga on (about) $100 a Day (8-7)

By Ed Sehon  (VSiN handicapper) 

August 7, 2021 03:45 AM

HANDICAP RECAP: The Bros. Ortiz remained ice cold for the third consecutive day, with Irad Jr.’s Race 10 victory the pair’s lone win on Friday. Mr Ed’s projected OVER 4.5 wins for the day between the brothers failed to cover … Meanwhile, jockey standings leader from Day 1, Luis Saez, booted home a pair of winners to increase his lead to six. At the end of the 10-race card, the top three were Saez (31 wins), Irad Ortiz (25) and Jose Ortiz (24). All three riders have several strong mounts on Saturday … The average Win ticket for Friday broke double digits, returning $12.40 … To top Friday off, Mr. Ed had his first VSiN three-bagger of the meet, posting a winning Daily Double (Races Nos. 2-3) for $69.20, his Best Bet (Race No. 7) returned $31.50 and his $27 Late Pick 4 (Races Nos. 7-10) ticket paid $115.50. All he needs is a few more days like Friday (cashing for $216.20) to achieve his goal of having a profitable 40-day meet.

 

WHITNEY DAY AT THE SPA: The high-quality, 12-race card offers something for everyone: five important stakes (Races Nos. 6-10): a $100,000 turf route contest for maiden 2-year-olds (Race No. 1); a $100,000 7-furlong dirt sprint for 2-year-old maidens (Race 5) & a Mr. Ed $48 late Pick 5 (Race Nos. 6-10) … A total of 112 horses, conditioned by 56 different trainers will be ridden by 18 of the very best jockeys … With the first five races confined to allowances, claimers and maidens, Mr. Ed saves his bets for last (Race Nos. 6-12).

 

EXACTA EXTRA (Race No. 6, 3:24 p.m. ET/12:24 p.m. PT)

Look for #2 Delaware (9-2 morning line) to get job done for Chad Brown barn, which is due to catch fire. Play him top & bottom with #3 Value Proposition (2-1), also for Brown; #5 Flavius (3-1), ridden by Flavien Prat; and #11 Dreams of Tomorrow (8-1). Wager: $2 Exacta box of 2 with 3,5,11. ($12)

 

$0.50 PICK 5 (Races Nos. 6-10, 3:24 p.m. ET/12:24 p.m. PT)

Race 6: 2,3,5,11

Race 7: 3,5,6

Race 8: 1,4,5,7

Race 9: 2,6

Race 10: 4 ($48)

 

PRICE PLAY (Race No. 7, 3:58 p.m. ET/12:58 p.m. PT)

Top shipper Al Stall Jr. returns veteran turf specialist #6 Dalika (9-2 morning line) and her regular rider, Miguel Mena, to Spa for Grade 2 Glens Falls marathon. She’ll be close to lead early — and kick home a winner. Wager: $10 Win & Place on 6. ($20)

 

DAILY DOUBLE (Race Nos. 9-10, 5:10 p.m. ET/2:10 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes longshot #2 Du Jour (8-1 morning line) and favorite #6 Bolshoi Ballet (2-1) in first leg. He’ll hook them up with top choices, speedster #4 Knicks Go (6-5) and 7-of-8 #5 Maxfield (8-5) in Race No. 10, the Whitney. Wager: $5 Daily Doubles of 2,6/4,5. ($20)

 

BEST BET (Race No. 10, 5:48 p.m. ET, 2:48 p.m. PT)

Trainer-of-Year Brad Cox has #4 Knicks Go (6-5 morning line) fully cranked off 10-length Prairie Meadows score. Wire-to-wire win puts him in Breeders’ Cup Classic. Mr. Ed hasn’t rooted for the Knicks since ‘72. Wager $20 Win on 4. ($20)

 

LAST BEST BET (Race No. 12, 6:55 p.m. ET/3:55 p.m. PT)

This would be a great spot for Steve Asmussen to become winningest trainer ever (if he hasn’t already pulled off the feat). Calls on stable go-to guy Ricardo Santana to boot #11 Miner’s Queen (6-1 morning line) home in turf sprint. Wager: $5 Win & Place on 11. ($10)

 

TOTAL WAGERS: $130

 

back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
custom-banner-3
 

LISTEN LIVE!

It's totally free

(Learn more about the player)

OTHER WAYS TO LISTEN

  • On your phone
  • In your home
  • In your car
DETAILS
Google Play
App Store
Close