Mr. Ed's Saratoga bankroll plays for Sunday 8/21

By Ed Sehon  (VSiN.com handicapper) 

Saratoga_photo_by_Ed

Editor's note: last summer, Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed) called this column "Saratoga on (about) $100 a Day." This year, he's just doing the weekend cards (Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays) but still approaching each day with around $100 in plays as if he was just trying to beat the races on a given day. Here are his plays for Sunday as we wrap up Week 6 of 8:

NOTE: On Monday, Mr. Ed heads north to his very favorite spot in racing — the backstretch at Saratoga — in an effort to rebuild his bankroll, hang out with friends and meet some winners. An aging horseplayer of more than 40 visits to the Spa, he hopes this will not be his last. If it is, he plans to make it a memorable one relaxing among the trees, drinking beer, consuming dogs with kraut — and cashing tickets. After all, isn’t that what it’s all about?

Races 1-2 (1:05 p.m. ET/10:05 a.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes a $5 Daily Double of two well-bred, first timers #3 Hay Stack (3-1 morning line) and #5 Cookie Crumbs (6-1) with vets #2 Deep Cover (5-2) and #7 Phantom Smoke (8-5).

(cost $20)

Race 5 (3:18 p.m. ET/12:18 p.m. PT)

I like three here: #3 Devamani (5-2 morning line) for Franco-Brown duo; #5 Healing (8-1) with Rosario for Saffie Joseph Jr., and #10 Monarchs Glen (5-1), pairing Irad Ortiz Jr.

with Michael Maker. Wager: $5 Exacta Box of 3,5,10.

(cost $30)

Race 6 (3:52 p.m. ET/12:52 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed has a huge hill to climb if he’s to turn his record around. He’ll need all the help he can get to reach the summit before Labor Day. After several sharp works, #9 Peak Popularity (8-1 morning line) offers an excellent opportunity to cut his losses. Manny Franco rides for top Chad Brown barn. Wager: $20 to Win.

(cost $20)

Race Nos. 7-10 (4:26 p.m. ET/1:26 p.m. PT)

Here’s a $1 Pick 4 to help build a bankroll for Travers Week.

Race 7: 1,3,7,9

Race 8: 2

Race 9: 2,3,6,7

Race 10: 6,8,9

(cost $48)

TOTAL WAGERS: $118

back to news

help_desk_promo

PRO TOOLS

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings for every game on the board, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

PRO PICKS

Lou Finocchiaro: Kenneth Gainwell Anytime TD +380. View more picks.

Pauly Howard: Score Every Quarter (+600). View more picks.

PRO TIPS

Live Bet Sunday: The majority of the handle for the Super Bowl will come relatively late, ramping up a few days before the game. Expect this action to alter the money line prices if not the spread. View more tips.

The Lombardi Line: The Chiefs have FOUR rookie DBs with Trent McDuffie, Joshua Williams, Jaylen Watson, and Bryan Cook. If the Chiefs D focuses on pass rush and leaves the DBs to play man-to-man, the Eagles' pass catchers have the advantage. View more tips.

QUICK LINKS

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

Close