Mr. Ed's Saratoga bankroll plays for Sunday 7/31

By Ed Sehon  (VSiN.com handicapper) 

Flavien_Prat

Editor's note: last summer, Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed) called this column "Saratoga on (about) $100 a Day," but sometimes had trouble finding plays on the mid-week cards, which put a drain on the bankroll. This summer, Mr. Ed is posting his plays for VSiN.com/horses readers on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. Here are his plays for Sunday to complete the third weekend of meet:

Races 2-5 (1:37 p.m. ET/10:37 a.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes early $1 Pick 4

Race 2: 3,8,10

Race 3: 2,8

Race 4: 5,7

Race 4: 3,6,7

(cost $36)

Race 3 (2:12 p.m. ET/11:12 a.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes #8 Trade Street (9-2 morning line). More often than not you won’t see the winningest trainer of all time go with an apprentice jockey — but here it is with Steve Asmussen selecting Jose Gomez to ride in $50,000 claimer for 3-year-old fillies. I’m looking for young rider to make the most of this rare opportunity. Wager: $5 Win and Place.

(cost $10)

Race 4 (2:45 p.m. ET/11:45 a.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes #5 Street Tsar (3-1 morning line). Todd Pletcher sends out late-blooming 4-year-old gelded son of Street Boss, looking to repeat his impressive debut victory at Belmont. Saratoga “rookie” Flavien Prat retains mount. Back-to-back streets. Wager: $5 Win and Place.

(cost $10)

Race 5 (3:16 p.m. ET/12:16 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes trio: #3 Ice Princess (8-1 morning line), #6 Capital Structure (5-2) and #7 Coastana (4-1). Wager: $2 Exacta Box of 3,6,7.

(cost $12)

Race 7 (4:22 p.m. ET/1:22 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes three here: #2 Value Engineering (5-1 morning line), #4 Ocala Dream (8-1) and #10 Flop Shot (4-1). Hitting two consecutive Exactas better than one. Wager: $2 Exacta box of 2,4,10.

(cost $12)

Race 8 (4:59 p.m. ET/1:59 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed’s BEST BET is #2 Arklow (2-1 morning line). This is one tough customer. Having banked nearly $3 million, he returns to sod to begin his 8-year-old campaign. Brad Cox trains, Irad Ortiz Jr. climbs aboard for first time. Look for him to capture his first victory at Spa. Wager: $20 to Win.

(cost $20)

Race 9 (5:34 p.m. ET/2:34 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes #1 Pinehurst (6-1 morning line). Solid trainer John Terranova and jockey Flavien Prat return to states following a pair of races in Saudi Arabia. Works indicate 3-year-old is rested and ready for sprint stakes. Wager: $5 to Win and Place.

(cost $10)

Race 10 (6:08 p.m. ET/3:08 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes #9 Chapel Road (9-2 morning line). Manny Franco reunited with son of Quality Road, seeking to break his maiden in turf sprint. Christophe Clement, who’s having an excellent Spa meet, trains. Wager: $10 Win and Place.

($20)

TOTAL WAGERS: $130

back to news

Related News

 

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings for every game on the board, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

VSiN PrimeTime: Be aware of injuries on the offensive line, skill positions get the most publicity, but if an elite tackle is out it could have a huge impact on the game. View more tips.

A Numbers Game: If you’re just getting into soccer betting, make sure you know exactly what you’re betting. i.e. Double chance, to win, to advance, etc. View more tips.
 
Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

​Michael Lombardi: Seahawks -7. View more picks.

 

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings for every game on the board, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

VSiN PrimeTime: Be aware of injuries on the offensive line, skill positions get the most publicity, but if an elite tackle is out it could have a huge impact on the game. View more tips.

A Numbers Game: If you’re just getting into soccer betting, make sure you know exactly what you’re betting. i.e. Double chance, to win, to advance, etc. View more tips.
 
Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Chuck Edel: Kansas State +2.5 vs TCU. View more picks.

Kenny White: Fresno State +3 vs Boise St. View more picks.
Close