Mr. Ed's Saratoga bankroll plays for Saturday 8/6

By Ed Sehon  (VSiN.com handicapper) 

Saratoga_photo_by_Ed

Editor's note: last summer, Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed) called this column "Saratoga on (about) $100 a Day," but sometimes had trouble finding plays on the mid-week cards, which put a drain on the bankroll. This summer, Mr. Ed is posting his plays for VSiN.com/horses readers on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. Mr. Ed hit the early Daily Double on Friday and nearly hit the Late Pick 4, which would have pulled him close to even for the meet. Here are his plays for Saturday:

Race 4 (2:18 p.m. ET/11:18 a.m. PT)

#4 Founder (8-1 morning line) looks like a live long shot. Hall of Fame conditioner Bill Mott hires Joel Rosario to put 4-year-old son of Upstart in spot to score as he cuts back to mile in his 2022 debut. Top trainer smart jockey rich bloodline = formula for victory. A real find. Wager: $5 to Win & Place.

(cost $10)

Race 8 (4:34 p.m. ET/1:34 p.m. PT)

My BIG SHOT of the DAY is #6 Hometown (8-1 morning line). I’m tossing his last. Focusing on wet near miss at Belmont last spring, he’s a proven talent. With rain a possibility today, all he’ll need is to be near the lead early. New trainer (Rob Atras) and jockey (Manny Franco) form a powerful pair. This guy’s my hometown hero. Wager: $5 to Win and Place — and $6 Daily Double with #1 Matareya in Race 9.

(cost $16)

Races 9-12 (5:07 p.m. ET/2:07 p.m. PT)

I like the following $1 Pick 4

Race: 9: 1

Race 10: 2,4,6

Race 11: 3,4,6,7,10

Race 12: 1,3,7,9

(cost $60)

Race 10 (5:43 p.m. ET/2:43 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed is all in on #4 Olympiad in the Grade 1, $1 million Whitney Stakes. Winner of his last five, millionaire son of super sire Speightstown in search of first Grade 1 victory. Bill Mott trains, Junior Alvarado rides  — Olympiad wins the gold! Wager: $20 to Win and $5 Exacta Box of 2,4,6.

(cost $50)

10-DAY (1/4 of meet) NUMBERS

TOTAL WAGERS: $860.00

TICKETS CASHED: $570.05

TOTAL PROFIT/LOSS: -$312.95

TOTAL SATURDAY WAGERS: $136

back to news

Related News

PRO TOOLS

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings for every game on the board, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

PRO TIPS

The Greg Peterson Experience: In NBA and college hoops, place more value on teams that emphasize low post defense. It travels much better than shooting. View more tips

Live Bet Tonight: In games with favorites laying 3 points or fewer, check out laying the price on the moneyline and avoid losing by a few points. View more tips

PRO PICKS

Jason Weingarten: Rams +6 vs. Raiders. View more picks

Josh Appelbaum: Army/Navy Under 33 (-110). View more picks

 

 

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

Close