Mr. Ed's Saratoga bankroll plays for Saturday 8/20

By Ed Sehon  (VSiN.com handicapper) 

Nest

Editor's note: last summer, Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed) called this column "Saratoga on (about) $100 a Day." This year, he's just doing the weekend cards (Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays) but still approaching each day with around $100 in plays as if he was just trying to beat the races on a given day. Here are his plays for Saturday:

”A horse is a horse of course of course

And no one can talk to a horse of course

That is of course unless the horse is …

Mr. Ed!”

Races 1-3 (12:30 p.m. ET/9:30 a.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes a $2 Pick 3

Race 1: 2,6

Race 2: 4,6

Race 3: 2,3,4

(cost $24)

Race 3 (1:39 p.m. ET/10:39 a.m. PT)

I like a $2 Exacta Box and a $1 Trifecta Box of #2 Ryan’s Cat (6-1 morning line) for sharp trainer Gustavo Rodriquez and mighty Manny Franco; #3 Peaceful Waters (9-5) for duo of Al Stall Jr. and Luis Saez; and #4 Favorite Outlaw (7-5), trained by best-ever Steve Asmussen and ridden by Joel Rosario.

(cost $18)

Race 5 (2:45 p.m. ET/11:45 a.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes #6 Activist Investing (5-2 morning line). Making his second start for dynamic duo of Chad Brown and Irad Ortiz Jr., $400,000 son of Kingman poised to bounce back from troubled debut. We might not get even money, but I’m actively investing $20 to Win on my BEST BET of the day.

(cost $20)

Race 7 (3:52 p.m. ET/12:52 p.m. PT)

#4 Bat Flip (6-1 morning line) is my pick. HOF conditioner Todd Pletcher asks slugger Irad Ortiz Jr. to return to the plate after striking out in Spa debut. Look for son of Good Magic to go long vs. select field of 2-year-olds, touching all the bases. Mr. Ed is Bat Flip crazy. Wager: $10 to Win and box in $2 Exactas, over and under 1,3,5.

(cost $22)

Races 8-11 (4:26 p.m.ET/1:26 p.m. PT)

It’s about time Mr. Ed hits a Pick 4. Here’s one for $1:

Race 8: ALL (1-8)

Race 9: 5,6,9

Race 10: 4

Race 11: 4,7

(cost $48)

TOTAL WAGERS: $132

back to news

Related News

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

 

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

A Numbers Game: It sounds obvious but stay on top of injury reports and whether or not the information is credible. You don’t want to overreact to news but you can get ahead of line movement if you’re on top of information as it's breaking.

VSiN PrimeTime: Know the weather reports! Early information about CFB Saturday in the southeast, early in the week it appeared the Carolinas would be affected, but now the storm will be further north, totals won't be affected.

View tips for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Kenny White: Kansas +3 vs Iowa State

Chuck Edel: Tulane-Houston Over 55

View new sortable Picks at a Glance page for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Screen_Shot_2022-09-30_at_6.23.35_PM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

 

Close