Mr. Ed's Saratoga bankroll plays for Saturday 7/23

By Ed Sehon  (VSiN.com handicapper) 

Nest

Editor's note: last summer, Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed) called this column "Saratoga on (about) $100 a Day," but sometimes had trouble finding plays on the mid-week cards, which put a drain on the bankroll. So, for this summer's meet at the Spa, Mr. Ed is saving his bankroll for the higher-quality cards (and horses) on the weekend and is posting his plays for VSiN.com/horses readers on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays throughout the meet. After an up-and-down opening weekend, here are his plays for Saturday:

Races 1-2 (1:05 p.m. ET/10:05 a.m. PT)

$5 SPECIAL DAILY DOUBLE

Race 1: #5 Coach Petro (9-2. morning line) and #7 Activist Investing (9-5)

Race 2: #6 Pirate Life (7-5) and #7 Brazillionaire (8-5)

(cost $20)

Race 4 (2:43 p.m. ET/11:43 a.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes #5 Herington Rocket (8-1 morning line). “While Manny Franco opts for mounts on the Jersey Shore (Monmouth Park), Tyler Gaffalione inherits assignment on promising daughter of More Than Ready from top conditioner Chad Brown. After losing by a neck in maiden claimer, Brown promotes gal to MSW. Rocket ready to fire juicy price. Wager: $5 Win and Place.”

(cost $10)

Race 5 -- Grade 1 Coaching Club American Oaks (3:16 p.m. ET/12:16 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed loves #3 Nest (1-1 morning line). “The class of her sophomore class, she’ll feather her already healthy ($1.1 million) nest egg as filly turns back from excellent Place effort in Belmont Stakes. Todd Pletcher-Irad Ortiz Jr. combo delivers again for powerful Repole ownership. Wager $20 to Win.”

(cost $20)

Race 6 (3:51 p.m. ET/12:51 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes #3 Faithful and True (8-1 morning line). “Taking a shot with $450,000 offspring of Good Magic in debut for skillful trainer Rudy Brissett. Javier Castellano has Mr. Ed crooning in Winner’s Circle. Wager $5 Win and Place.”

(cost $10)

Race 7 (4:26 p.m. ET/1:26 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes trio: #2 Tough Street (7-2 morning line), #6 Quick Power Nap (5-1) and #9 Royal Dancer (4-1) Wager: $2 Exacta Box of 2,6,9.

(cost $12)

Races 8-11 (5:01 p.m. ET/2:01 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes a $.50 Pick 4

Race 8: 2,4,6,7

Race 9: 5,7

Race 10: 1,2,3,4

Race 11: 3,6,8

(cost $48)

TOTAL WAGERS: $120

back to news

Related News

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings for every game on the board, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

A Numbers Game: Remember in the NFL, teams are never as good or as bad as they looked a week before. View more tips

VSiN Big Bets: Compare second-half NFL lines with the live line. You'll often find slight half-point differences, or even more, that will tell you which bet you should make. View more tips

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Chuck Edel: Michigan State-Penn State Over 52.5.  View more picks

Chris Fallica: Ohio State -8.5 vs. Michigan.  View more picks

Close