Mr. Ed's Saratoga bankroll plays for Monday 9/5

By Ed Sehon  (VSiN.com handicapper) 

Editor's note: last summer, Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed) called this column "Saratoga on (about) $100 a Day." This summer, he just attacked the weekend cards (Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays) but still approaching each day with around $100 in plays as if he was just trying to beat the races on a given day. Here's a bonus column on the closing-day card on Labor Day:

Race 1 (12:35 p.m./9:35 a.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes #7 Bode’s Girl (6-1 morning line). Popular NY-circuit trainer, and lifetime long-suffering Jets fan, is having his finest Spa meet ever. Had I bet on all his eight earlier winners, I might not be in the jam I’m in. It’s never too late to climb aboard with leading rider Irad Ortiz Jr. and go for broke. Steady works indicate Bodemeister’s gal is ready to be Donk’s number nine. You go, girl. Wager: $10 to Win.

(cost $10)

Races 1-5 (12:35 p.m. ET/9:35 a.m. PT)

LABOR DAY SPECIAL $1 PICK 5

Race 1: 7,10

Race 2: 2,5

Race 3: 4,5

Race 4: 3

Race 5: 4,5

(cost $16)

Race 5 (2:47 p.m. ET/11:47 a.m. PT)

I like #4 She Caught My Eye (3-1 morning line). Mrs. Ed, who has been wearing eye glasses since Eisenhower was a general, recently had “miracle” cataract surgery. Her vision is now perfect 20-20 in both eyes. The eye fix, along with Saratoga, have emptied my wallet. Mr. Ed sees Mott and longtime go-to rider Alvarado helping to bail him out. Wager: $20 to Win.

(cost $20)

Race 6 (3:20 p.m. ET/12:20 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes a five for the price of four here: #1 Whatlovelookslike & #1A Just Ok Is Not Ok (7-2 morning line); #2 New Ginya (4-1); #4 Fist Full of Dice (12-1); and #10 Russiarussiarussia (9-2). Wager: $2 Exacta and $1 Trifecta Boxes.

(cost $36)

Race 8 (4:27 p.m. ET/1:27 p.m. PT)

I like $5 Exacta and $2 Trifecta Boxes, consisting of #1 Gentleman Joe (7-2 morning line); #2 Air Attack (4-1); and #9 Bal Harbour (8-1).

(cost $42)

Race 9 (5:01 p.m. ET/2:01 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed’s FINAL BEST BEST is #5 Voliero (8-1 morning line). Hot jockey (Jose Ortiz) and hot conditioner (Jose Camejo) team up in 1 1/8-mile starter allowance over the Inner Turf Course. First off the claim, look for fast-closing gelding to circle the field and score at a price. Wager: $20 to Win.

(cost $20)

Races 9-12 (5:01 p.m. ET/2:01 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed’s LAST CHANCE for Spa profitability a $0.50 Pick 4

Race 9: 1,2,5

Race 10: 1,4,5

Race 11: ALL (1-6)

Race 12: 1,2

(cost: $54)

TOTAL WAGERS: $198

back to news

Related News

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

 

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

College Lines Revealed: Don't be afraid to keep betting on undervalued teams until the market adjusts. Ex: Kansas, UNLV

View tips for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Michael Lombardi: Cowboys +1 at Giants

Amal Shah: Iowa +10 vs. Michigan
 

View new sortable Picks at a Glance page for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Screen_Shot_2022-09-25_at_11.55.56_PM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

 

Close