Live On Air

Streaming Now: Prime Time Action

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Mr. Ed's Keeneland on (about) $100 a Day 4-9

By Ed Sehon  (VSiN handicapper) 

April 8, 2022 11:25 PM
Keeneland_starting_gate

Editor's note: Just like he did during the 40-day Saratoga meet last summer, Ed Sehon -- aka Mr. Ed -- will provide VSiN readers with daily picks during the 15-day Keeneland meet that runs through April 29.

On Friday's opening day, Sehon gave out $88 in picks and made a profit as Malibu Marie, his first pick of the meet in Race 4, paid $15.20 to Win, $6 to Place, returning $106 on his recommended play of $10 to Win and Place. He lost a Win bet and Exacta in Race 7 as well as a $48 Pick 4 ticket, but still came out $18 ahead for the day.

Sehon’s selections are meant to give an overview of how to attack each day’s card through the use of Best Bets on individual horses as well as multi-race wagers. He generally tries to do it on a bankroll of (about) $100 a day, though will sometimes go higher on bigger days like Saturday on Blue Grass Day.

Race No. 4 (2:10 p.m. ET/11:10 a.m. PT)

My selection is #10 Iron Works (3-1 morning line). I’m willing to give this Triple Crown- nominee a second chance off his lackluster Gulfstream effort in last. One of Mr. Ed’s original Kentucky Derby futures wagers, he actually regressed under Irad Ortiz Jr. Trainer Todd Pletcher replaces him with Luis Saez, who was aboard for his runaway maiden score in January. Wager: $10 to Win and Place and $5 Daily Double of 10 and 10.”

Race No. 5 (2:45 p.m. ET/11:45 a.m. PT)

Mr. Ed is not afraid to look a gift horse in the mouth. A fellow handicapper, whom I have been following for years, says that #10 Prevalence (5-1 morning line) is the flat-out lock on quality card. With Tyler Gaffalione up for sharp Brendan Walsh barn, cutting back to 7 furlongs after easy front-running score followed by bullet work, who am I to argue? Wager $10 to Win and Place on live tip.”

Races Nos. 8-11 (4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 8: 3,4,9,10,11

Race 9: 1,4,6,10

Race 10: 4,5,11

Race 11: 10,11

Race No. 9 (5:10 p.m. ET/2:10 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed’s Grade 1, $1 million Blue Grass Stakes pick is #4 Zandon (5-2 morning line). A hop, skip and a jump leaving gate cost my current Kentucky Derby choice any chance in the Risen Star at Fair Grounds. After a series of quick works for Chad Brown, skillful jock Favien Prat picks up mount for final Triple Crown qualifier. Let’s go Zandon! Wager: $20 Win and $10 to Place.”

TOTAL WAGERS: $135

back to news

Related News


spacer_5

Ask VSiN Your Sports Betting Questions

Spell Check

Headlines

View All

Google Play
App Store
Close