Mr. Ed's Breeders' Cup picks for Saturday

By Ed Sehon  (VSiN.com handicapper) 

November 4, 2022 04:30 PM
Flightline_Met

“Future Stars Friday” is behind us and now we turn our attention to Saturday 9 Breeders’ Cup races at Keeneland, where your faithful handicapper is on-site enjoying the races from the media center and the stands. Hopefully I’ve picked up some helpful tidbits being so close to the action.

Keeneland Race 3 (11:50 a.m. ET/8:50 a.m. PT)

BC Filly and Mare Sprint

Win selection is #13 Echo Zulu (6-1 morning line) for winningest all-time trainer Steve Asmussen. I fell in love with this gal the day she broke her maiden in debut. Good horses overcome bad posts. She’s a very fast filly  … Place choice is #11 Wicked Halo (10-1). Also for Assmusen, she’s won four in a row, including most recent at Keeneland … Show horse is #7 Obligatory (8-1). Nobody prepares them for big races better than Bill Mott … Longshot: Lots of morning trackside chatter about sole Japanese import #6 Chain of Love (20-1).

Keeneland Race 4 (12:29 p.m. ET/9:29 a.m. PT)

BC Turf Sprint

In order to win this race, they’ll need to beat #8 Golden Pal (2-1). Short on price, tall on talent. He’s my Win pick for sprint specialist Wesley Ward. Irad Ortiz Jr. returns to ride … Closer #11 Casa Creed (6-1) is Place selection. Turning back from pair of mile contests, he’ll be flying in stretch … #6 Highfield Princess (7-2) ships in for low-profile connections, but I’m betting she finishes in the money. Longshot: Irish-bred #1 Creative Force (10-1) gets inside trip.

Keeneland Race 5 (1:10 p.m. ET/10:10 a.m. PT)

BC Dirt Mile

Speedy #6 Laurel River (9-2) for rare Baffert-Irad combo looks like Winner. Improving colt has fired several bullet works … Classy #9 Cyberknife (9-2) gave top sophomores a run for their money. My Place pick fits here … Gotta love sentimental choice #7 Cody’s Wish (5-2) to Show … Longshot: #5 Gunite (7-2) capable of scoring an upset at higher than morning line odds in super-competitive race.

Keeneland Race 6 (1:50 p.m. ET/10:50 a.m. PT)

BC Filly and Mare Turf

Very fast Chad Brown trainee #11 In Italian (7-2) is my Win selection. Joel Rosario has yet to be defeated aboard improving British-bred gal … Choice to Place is always competitive Irish invader Tuesday (8-1). Tip from reliable overseas tout … Show horse is #4 Above the Curve (9-2). The more she runs the faster she gets … Longshot: #9 Rougir (12-1). Prat back in saddle for Brown barn. Could surprise.

Keeneland Race 7 (2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT)

BC Sprint

Keeneland prior BC title-holder Jackie’s Warrior (4-5) just too good for me. When you can’t beat ‘em. pick ‘em to Win … If any other could triumph, it’s steadily improving #6 Elite Power (6-1) for Mott and Irad, my Place play … Ward and Jose Ortiz with #2 Kimari (4-1) looking for in-the-money finish off two recent victories … Longshot: #5 Aloha West (12-1) is a threat to repeat for Catman.

Keeneland Race 8 (3:10 p.m. ET/12:10 p.m. PT)

BC Mile

I, like several other media types, like invader #4 Modern Games (7-2) to Win extremely competitive event. Repeat of Woodbine race this summer would defeat this crew … Another import, #13 Kinross (9-2), is coming in with four-race win streak. Gelding is my Place play … Show goes to outermost starter #14 Domestic Spending (8-1). It’s never a good idea to overlook speedy Brown runner … Longshot: Brazilian-bred #6 Ivar (15-1). Javier Castellano picks up mount for Paulo Lobo. Respect upstart connections.

Keeneland Race 9 (3:55 p.m. ET/12:55 p.m. PT)

BC Distaff

Many handicappers expecting showdown between Todd Pletcher’s best – #1 Malathaat (3-1) and #6 Nest (9-5) – so I’ll go out on a limb by backing #4 Clairiere (4-1) to Win. She has kick to run two speedsters down in deep stretch … I’ll take Malathaat to Place, Nest to Show. Longshot: #3 Secret Oath (15-1) for the great Coach, D. Wayne Lukas.

Keeneland Race 10 (4:40 p.m. ET/1:40 p.m. PT)

BC Turf

Top Euro jockey Frankie Dettori had choice of riding either #7 Nations Pride (7-2) or #11 Mishriff (6-1). By post time, I think public will agree with Frankie and make #11 the favorite. I agree. Mishriff is my Win pick, #7 to Place … Longshot: #10 Red Knight (20-1) from Dave Tuley’s picks.

Keeneland Race 11 (5:40 p.m. ET/2:40 p.m. PT)

BC Classic

It’s not a matter of who will win, but by how many lengths. #4 Flightline (3-5) will Win … The key to making money here is uncovering who will finish second, third and fourth – and playing them underneath in exotic wagers … My other picks: #7 Olympiad (10-1) to Place; #6 Epicenter (5-1) to Show, and Longshot #1 Taiba (8-1) to round out superfecta.

 

back to news

Related News

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings for every game on the board, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Follow The Money: Consider schedules before betting on a team. What happened before and what is coming up can impact if a team is worth backing. Like SEA hosting CAR (off their bye) with SF in Week 15.  View more tips.

The Greg Peterson Experience: Have a value in mind for a dropoff to a backup quarterback from the starter, as many QBs are injured at this time of the season. View more tips.

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Dave Tuley: Jets +10 at Bills.  ​​​View more picks.

 

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings for every game on the board, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

VSiN PrimeTime: Be aware of injuries on the offensive line, skill positions get the most publicity, but if an elite tackle is out it could have a huge impact on the game. View more tips.

A Numbers Game: If you’re just getting into soccer betting, make sure you know exactly what you’re betting. i.e. Double chance, to win, to advance, etc. View more tips.
 
Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Chuck Edel: Kansas State +2.5 vs TCU. View more picks.

Kenny White: Fresno State +3 vs Boise St. View more picks.
Close