Jeff Siegel's Horse Racing Picks for Saturday 7/23

By Jeff Siegel  (Xpressbet) 

Xpressbet writer Jeff Siegel offers his top plays for Saturday.

Del Mar Race No. 5 (7:04 p.m. ET/4:04 p.m. PT)

#3 Handy Dandy (7-2)

Freshened for 10 weeks, this Peter Miller-trained gelding returns to the course where he broke his maiden impressively last year, and with a series of sharp recent workouts at San Luis Rey Downs to have him fit and ready this multiple stakes-placed gelding should outclass this first-level allowance field. The son of Fury Kapcori has excellent tactical speed and good late kick, so we’re expecting Juan Hernandez to have him comfortably placed in the second flight, ready to pounce when the field straightens for home. There is sufficient wagering value at or near his morning line of 7-2.

Del Mar Race No. 9 (9:04 p.m. ET/6:04 p.m. PT)

#2 Hamwood Flier (4-1)

Makes her first start for Phil D’Amato after originally being imported by trainer Richard Baltas before being transferred to George Papapadromou, for whom she won an allowance race at Santa Anita in late May. She did so despite running off to a needless long lead and then drifting out badly in the final furlong, but still managed to win by daylight. If she can relax just a bit today and maintain a straight course, the lightly raced Euro import should be able to wire the field once again. Let’s make her a Win play and rolling exotic single and hope to get close to her morning line of 4-1.

You can bet these races and more using 1/ST BET, the preferred horse betting app of VSiN. Sign up using the code VEGAS22 for a $100 sign-up bonus HERE.

back to news

Related News

Headlines

View All

Google Play
App Store
Close