Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 1/7

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

January 7, 2023 05:50 AM
Horse_racing

Horse racing Best Bets for Saturday

Team Tuley continues to look for value at horse racing tracks from coast to coast.

After taking two weeks off, my friend Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed from his Saratoga and Keeneland columns at VSiN.com in addition to his contributions here) carried us last Saturday as his Late Pick 5 at Gulfstream Park paid $588.20.

This Saturday, we’re joined by Sehon as well as Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci as we live up to the coast-to-coast boast with plays at Aqueduct in New York, Gulfstream and Tampa Bay Downs in Florida, Oaklawn in Arkansas and Santa Anita in California.

Good luck today (and every day)!

Aqueduct Races Nos. 7-10 (2:45 p.m. ET/11:45 a.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 7: 2,3,7,8,9

Race 8: 1,3,4

Race 9: 2,7,8,9

Race 10: 4,10

Santa Anita Race No. 1 (3 p.m. ET/noon PT)

Duane Colucci likes #4 The Chosen Vron (4-5 morning line) in the $150,000 Don Valpredo California Cup Sprint Stakes. “I know I’m not a chalk guy, but this is a nice horse that has won 3 in a row and 4 of 5 over this course. Bet Trifectas keying 4 over 1,2,6.”

Santa Anita Park Races Nos. 1-5 (3 p.m. ET/noon PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $0.50 Pick 5 (cost $90)

Race 1: 4,6

Race 2: 3,4,6,8,11

Race 3: 2,4,7

Race 4: 3,5

Race 5: 4,6,7

Tampa Bay Downs Race No. 6 (3:05 p.m. ET/12:05 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #2 Coco Bravado (4-1 morning line). “Few trainers get claimers ready to roll upon return from lengthy break (38%) than sharp Jon Arnett. Class drop plus stretch out to 7 furlongs and addition of vet rider Hector Diaz point to bold move in stretch. Bravo! Coco. Wager: Win.”

Tampa Bay Downs Races Nos. 6-9 (3:05 p.m. ET/12:05 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $72)

Race 6: 2,7,8

Race 7: 1,6,7

Race 8: 3,5,7,9

Race 9: 3,5,8,10

Gulfstream Park Race No. 7 (3:11 p.m. ET/12:11 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #1 Candidate (6-1 morning line) in the $100,000 Dania Beach Stakes. “Top rider Tyler Gaffalione picks up mount on flashy sophomore turf specialist, following pair of all-out wins from outside posts. Rail draw sets stage for another front-running score. He’s my choice to run faster than the others. Wager: Win.”

Dave Tuley likes #5 Barzini (15-1 morning line). “This 3-year-old colt steps up in class, but trainer Michael Trombella hits at 17% with horses that won their last race and 15% in non-graded stakes, so we’re trusting he has him placed well here. Jockey Edwin Gonzalez is 2-for-5 with Trombella the last two months and should have him right off the pace. Wager: Win and Place.”

Aqueduct Race No. 8 (3:16 p.m. ET/12:16 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #1 Neural Network (7-2 morning line) in the $150,000 Jerome Stakes. “This Chad Brown runner crushed over an off course in his debut. Has solid workouts, especially on Dec. 18. Jockey Manny Franco won 6 races yesterday, so you know he’s looking to win. Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 3,4,6 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Aqueduct Race No. 9 (3:45 p.m. ET/12:45 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #2 Unbridled Bomber (7-2 morning line) in the $150,000 Queen County Stakes. “Last two races were impressive and both here at Aqueduct. No Ortiz brothers around, so trainer James Ryerson grabs Dylan Davis. Huge workout on Dec. 18 and the follow-up was solid. Bet 2 to Win and key 2 over 7,8,9 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Dave Tuley likes #8 Eloquist (10-1 morning line). “This 4-year-old is a hit-or-miss gelding with 5 wins in 12 career starts with no other in-the-money finishes and could steal this on the lead. He won last time out at 15-1 on a muddy track for his first win over this track. Trainer Robert Reid is hitting at 20% in non-graded stakes. Wager: Win and Place.”

Gulfstream Park Race Nos. 8-11 (3:41 p.m. ET/12:41 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $72)

Race 8: 7,8,11

Race 9: 1,3,6,7

Race 10: 2,4,5,6

Race 11: 3,6,9

Tampa Bay Downs Race No. 8 (4:05 p.m. ET/1:05 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #7 In the Loop (9-2 morning line). “This 7-year-old son of Super Saver, claimed by Gerald Bennett barn, returns from 18-month absence for initial Tampa Bay try in 6-furlong sprint. Seemingly ageless pilot Jose Ferrer accepts mount on condition he’ll put gelding in the loop from the get-go. Wager: Win and box in Exactas with 3,5,9.”

Oaklawn Races Nos. 7-10 (4:24 p.m. ET/1:24 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $48)

Race 7: 1,3,5,7,10,11

Race 8: 1,2,5,9

Race 9: 2,3

Race 10: 10,14

Gulfstream Park Race No. 11 (5:09 p.m. ET/2:09 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Moon Cat (4-1 morning line). “Well-bred son of Malibu Moon picks up services of top rider Irad Ortiz Jr. for second career start. Compromised in initial test by bump and surface change to dirt, guy will find turf sprint more to his liking. Wager: Win and join him in Exactas and Trifectas with 3 and 9.”

Santa Anita Park Race No. 6 (5:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #9 Tam’s Little Angel (10-1 morning line) in the $150,000 Sunshine Millions Filly and Mare Sprint Stakes. “This 4-year-old filly makes her debut on the hillside turf course at Santa Anita, but has the right running style as she should be able to sit off the pace and make one big run in the stretch under Umberto Rispoli, who wins 18% on turf courses. Trainer Steven Specht is also 20% in non-graded stakes. Wager: Win and Place.”

Santa Anita Park Races Nos. 7-10 (6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $72)

Race 7: 1,4,7

Race 8: 1,7,8,9

Race 9: 1,6,7,8

Race 10: 1,2,8

Santa Anita Race No. 8 (6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #1 Carole Lombard (8-1 morning line) in the $200,000 Leigh Ann Howard California Cup Oaks. “This fine filly acted the part (pun) very well in her second casting. Ramon Vazuez retains the mount. He and trainer Philip D’Amato hit at 21% when teaming up. Solid workouts, too. Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 7,8,9 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

 

back to news

PRO TOOLS

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings for every game on the board, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

PRO PICKS

Stormy Buonantony: NFL - 49ers +8.5 & Under 52.5. View more picks

Frank Schwab: Patrick Mahomes OVER 273.5 Pass Yards (-110). View more picks

PRO TIPS

A Numbers Game: If you’re looking to bet Bengals, just wait at this point. The line has moved Kansas City’s way and likely will a bit more before it closes. View more tips.

VSiN Final Countdown: With all four possible Super Bowl matchup look-ahead lines at PK, make your Super Bowl winner bets now, while you can get plus-money on all four teams. View more tips.

 

QUICK LINKS

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

Close