Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 12/31

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

December 31, 2022 11:34 AM
horse_racing

After two weeks off, Team Tuley is back to look for value at horse racing tracks from coast to coast.

The last time we were with you on Dec. 10, I gave out Junipermarshmallow, a 5-1 winner at Gulfstream Park, and my friend Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed) gave out a $654.15 late Pick 4 at Gulfstream, along with a $44.60 Exacta while Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci added a $23.50 late Pick 4 at Los Alamitos.

We’ll try to pick up where we left off this Saturday

Good luck today (and every day)!.Oh, and Happy New Year to all our readers and Happy Birthday tomorrow to all the racehorses as Jan. 1 is their universal birthday.

Gulfstream Park Race No. 5 (2:10 p.m. ET/11:10 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #8 Jungfrau (3-1 morning line). “Promising 2-year-old son of Arrogate looks for initial score following a pair of surprisingly dull efforts in New York. Trained by Bill Mott, Jose Ortiz returns to saddle as colt shortens up. Solid recent works indicate he’s ready to roll. Wager: Win.”

Gulfstream Park Race No. 6 (2:39 p.m. ET/11:39 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #4 Colorful Mischief (5-2 morning line) in the $125,000 Rampart Stakes. “Todd Pletcher stretches out speedball to one-turn mile while dropping her off two ho-hum graded-stakes efforts. Attracts Irad Ortiz Jr. to ride. Doubt this short field can catch her. Wager: Win.”

Aqueduct Races Nos. 6-9 (2:42 p.m. ET/11:42 a.m. PT)

Duane Colucci like a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $40.50)

Race 6: 1,2,3

Race 7: 2,7,8

Race 8: 5,7,10

Race 9: 6,10,11

Gulfstream Park Race No. 7 (3:09 p.m. ET/12:09 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #8 Phantom Vision (12-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Suwannee River. “This 4-year-old filly has been off for two months, but I trust turfmaster Michael Maker to have her ready. Paco Lopez should have her sitting just off the pace and in position for one late run at an overlay price.”

Ed Sehon likes three: #1 Scotish Star (5-2 morning line), #3 Bay Storm (3-1) and #7 Stolen Holiday (9-2). “Trio should dominate Grade 3 Suwanee River at a mile. Wager: Box in Exactas and Trifectas.”

Gulfstream Park Race Nos. 7-11 (3:09 p.m. ET/12:09 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $.50 Pick 5 (cost $54)

Race 7: 1,3,7,10

Race 8: 3,7,10

Race 9: 7,10,12

Race 10: 1,7,8

Race 11: 11

Aqueduct Race No. 8 (3:40 p.m. ET/12:40 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes # 7 Thomas Shelby (8-1 morning line) in the $150,000 Queens County Stakes. “There is some other horses in this race that like to be on the lead, so we hope they don’t get in a suicidal speed dual, but I like this 6-year-old gelding’s chances the best. Trainer David Jacobsen is also 24% with shippers as he brings this speedster to Aqueduct after handling the tracks are previous races at Churchill, Oaklawn, Indianapolis, Monmouth, Parx and Laurel. Wager: Win and Place.”

Gulfstream Race No. 9 (4:10 p.m. ET/1:10 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #8 Winfromwithin (15-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Ft. Lauderdale Stakes. “This 4-year-old should be the speed of the speed, just needs to get a head in front of the #1 Street Ready. Chantal Sutherland is 15% with speed types and 26% with trainer Jorge Delgado the last two months. The son of Into Mischief is stepping up in class, but Delgado is 2-for-10 in graded stakes so he’s pretty good at picking his spots. Wager: Win and Place.”

Gulfstream Park Race No. 11 (5:09 p.m. ET/2:09 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon’s BEST BET of the day is #11 Marketsegmentation (8-5 morning line). “Chad Brown sends late-blooming 3-year-old son of Triple Crown winner American Pharoah in optional claimer over the weeds. Nation’s top jock Irad Ortiz Jr. retains mount. Look for colt to explode in stretch capping off Pick 5 pay day. Wager: Win.”

Fair Grounds Races Nos. 7-10 (5:15 p.m. ET/2:15 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci like a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $45)

Race 7: 1,3,5,8,9

Race 8: 2,7,9

Race 9: 2,3,6

Race 10: 8,9

Santa Anita Races Nos. 6-9 (5:33 p.m. ET/2:33 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci like a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $54)

Race 6: 1,5,6,8

Race 7: 2,7,10

Race 8: 2,6,7

Race 9: 1,8,11

 

back to news

help_desk_promo

PRO TOOLS

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings for every game on the board, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

PRO PICKS

Lou Finocchiaro: Kenneth Gainwell Anytime TD +380. View more picks.

Pauly Howard: Score Every Quarter (+600). View more picks.

PRO TIPS

Live Bet Sunday: The majority of the handle for the Super Bowl will come relatively late, ramping up a few days before the game. Expect this action to alter the money line prices if not the spread. View more tips.

The Lombardi Line: The Chiefs have FOUR rookie DBs with Trent McDuffie, Joshua Williams, Jaylen Watson, and Bryan Cook. If the Chiefs D focuses on pass rush and leaves the DBs to play man-to-man, the Eagles' pass catchers have the advantage. View more tips.

QUICK LINKS

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

Close